top of page
  • Steve Croydon

September 2021 - It's the art of getting by


With recent times, never has “the art of getting by,” a lyric from Scottish synth-pop band’s CHVRCHES’ new track Asking For A Friend, been more relevant to all of us. At the end of last month, the group released their fourth studio album Screen Violence, which became their second UK Top 5 record. As someone who has been a fan of CHVRCHES since album one back in 2013, I was eager to hear their latest effort, and they didn’t disappoint. The opening track, where this month’s lyrical caption derives itself, is quintessential CHVRCHES, building to a huge synth-y crescendo, truly kicking off the record in style. A great album that definitely deserved that Top 5 spot!


Keep scrolling to read about some other faves from September, and check out the playlist in full on Spotify now!


Maisie Peters – Villain

While we’re on the subject of new albums, British singer-songwriter Maisie Peters released her debut You Signed Up For This on the very same DAY as the aforementioned CHVRCHES, which got all the way to Number 2. Someone who has been rapidly growing on my radar in recent months, and at just twenty-one years of age, it’s clear Maisie Peters has the talent to go all the way, and I’ve been loving so many tracks on the album this month. Villain, a frank and somewhat brutal song about jealousy and getting hurt, was my pick for September, but you can certainly expect to see more features in the coming months!


Grace Davies – used to you

Former X Factor finalist Grace Davies is churning out loads of exciting new music recently, and has been a regular feature in my playlists since the beginning of last year. Her latest track used to you, showcases Grace doing what she does best: heartfelt yet heart-breaking lyrics, ethereally bought to life by her angelic vocals. The new song was written after news her record label was closing, thus making Grace once again an independent artist. Well, I don’t know about you, but if this is the content that results in such news, it can’t be all a bad thing! Congrats to Grace on another solid release!


Elliot Root – 10,000

I’ve always enjoyed Nashville-based band Elliot Root when I’ve stumbled across their tracks in previous years. This month I finally discovered 2017 track 10,000 and it has quickly become one of my favourites of the month, a song commenting on feeling lost within the advances of technology. A great slice of indie alternative, and frontman Scott Krueger has a tone that makes you melt into the song. The band have also been teasing the release of their new album The Uncanny Valley, due for release next month!


Holly Humberstone – Scarlett

One artist who is really gaining traction as of late is UK musician Holly Humberstone, whose EP is due for release at the beginning of November. All three teaser tracks have featured in my playlists in 2021, the most recent being the beautiful Scarlett. She is really securing her sound, mixing an acoustic style with something darker and electronic. And I’ve said it before, but her whole aesthetic and branding is something really exciting and current: she’s certainly one to watch!


Jade Bird – Now is the Time

Another artist who is well and truly on the rise is Jade Bird, who ALSO released her new album last month (August truly blessed us with so much new music). Influenced by folk and Americana artists, this is a slightly different vibe for me, and admittedly, my first proper introduction to Jade Bird herself, but Now Is The Time feels happy and wholesome and I love it! Also the line “If I had a penny for all your potential I’d be left drowning, with my mouth full of metal,” is gorgeous and poetic. Her new album Different Kinds Of Light is out now and it’s sure to get your toes tapping!


*Special Mention* – Inglorious

This month we’re bringing back Cover of the Month, in the form of British rock band Inglorious. Now if you’ve read any my previous articles, you’ll know I’m the biggest Avril Lavigne fan in the WORLD (no joke). So when I heard someone had dropped a cover of my FAVOURITE Avril track I’m With You, I was straight on it, but also sceptical: after all, can anyone do Avril like Avril? But thankfully, I was certainly not disappointed, as Inglorious take the emotional ballad and add a very refreshing rock-y twist. With a powerful male vocal and even an electric guitar solo, it inverts lots of the track’s original features, but still fulfils you with the essence of the song; and lead vocalist Nathan James truly delivers a knockout performance. The band just released their album of all female covers, Heroine, featuring this track plus many more, so make sure to check it out! See you next month!








bottom of page