top of page
  • Steve Croydon

June 2021 - Say goodbye like you mean it

Updated: Oct 5, 2021


As the sun returns to the sky and the bees return to pollinating, June continued to be full of loads of great music. This month’s lyrical caption of ‘Say goodbye like you mean it’ comes from American indie star Bleachers, with new track Stop Making This Hurt. Being a fan of this act since 2015 (I Wanna Get Better used to be one of my favourite jogging tunes back at uni), the new release is heavily 80’s inspired, and comes from their upcoming third studio album, due at the end of July! A cool fusion of blending the old with the new, and with a rumoured collaboration with Lana Del Rey, this album could be one to watch!

Like that? You’ll love this! Keep scrolling to read about some of my other faves from June!


Julia Michaels – Little Did I Know

There aren’t many artists that could rhyme ‘Shakespearean’ with ‘experience’, or ‘oxygen’ with ‘ottoman’ AND ‘Solomon’ and get away with it, but American singer Julia Michaels can do no wrong, and is more than forgiven for her gorgeous track Little Did I Know. Taken from her debut 2021 LP Not In Chronological Order, Michaels is great at emoting in her songs, and this song feels cute and vulnerable and honest, with rather charming rhymes and a satisfying crescendo. One of my top streamed songs of this month!


Maisie Peters ft. Bear’s Den – I Want You To Change (Because You Want To Change)

When I heard Maisie Peters had collaborated with Bear’s Den on a new song, my ears were immediately interested and I anticipated big things. The track I Want You To Change (Because You Want To Change) comes from the second series of Apple TV show Trying, for which Maisie Peters wrote all the music, full of plenty of heart-rending folky goodness, and this duet is one of my faves from the series. I love a collab which feels like a proper back-and-forth conversation, which builds to a crescendo and you see two perspectives. This track ticks all these boxes, and even makes me want to check out the show so I can hear all the songs in context!


Picture This – If Ever However Whenever Forever

Irish band Picture This continue to impress as they released their third studio album Life In Colour at the end of June. Before that though came promotional single If Ever However Whenever Forever (try saying that five times fast). The group love to showcase both upbeat indie tracks and slower, stripped-back ballads, and this month’s track is definitely the latter, and feels like a declaration of love, albeit potentially a regretful one. As always Picture This deliver another poignant and successful single, and I look forward to delving deeper into the album next month.


Holly Humberstone – The Walls Are Way Too Thin

Aesthetically the artwork for Holly Humberstone’s The Walls Are Way Too Thin reminds me of Avril Lavigne’s 2004 Under My Skin era so that’s already a massive tick before the song even starts. Thankfully the track sounds as good as it looks too, a dark yet ethereal-sounding slice of alternative pop, which also feels vulnerable and self-deprecating and regretful too. At just twenty-one years of age, you can’t deny Holly’s talent and song-writing abilities, and I’m sure she is going to be one to watch as she continues to reach and grow.


IDER – BORED

London duo IDER began teasing new music this month, which their frank and honest track BORED. In the song they compile a list of things they’re bored of, from the ordinary to the profound, including phones, ego and even impatient perfectionism. One of IDER’s best strengths is being able to comment on the state of the world and society: albeit potentially pessimistic and negative, they always hit the nail right on the head, and I’m excited to see what’s next for this fantastic act.


*Special Mention – Billy Lockett & The King’s Parade*

This month I was lucky enough to see some live music again! After so many MANY months of being locked away, I jumped at the chance to see Billy Lockett, supported by Olly Corpe of band The King’s Parade, live in London this month. Having been a fan of Billy’s since Hands Tied in 2017, I was excited to hear some stuff from his new album Reflections, especially Talk featuring Violet Skies, which opened the set, and is also the lucky track selected for my June playlist.

The King’s Parade, who I admit I didn’t know previously, are also definitely ones to watch, and lead singer Olly Corpe provided some impressive acoustic versions of the band’s tracks at the very same gig. The song Sister, from their debut album Waves is also gorgeous, and the band have a great blend of indie, blues, folk and more, all somehow rolled into one! Thanks to all involved for such a great show, and long live LIVE MUSIC!

bottom of page