top of page
  • Steve Croydon

March 2021 - My harmonious design


The weather is starting to improve, and there finally seems to be light at the end of the tunnel re: COVID, so things are looking up! It was another great month for music, and this week’s caption comes from Canadian artist Alessia Cara: her track My Song features as a favourite of mine in March, with ‘my harmonious design’ symbolising hope and positivity for the future. A great song about ignoring what other people say and being authentically you, taken from her 2016 album Know-It All.


But what else have I been enjoying this month? Be sure to listen/follow the playlist on the right-hand side and keep scrolling to read more of my thoughts!


Grace Davies – i met a boy online

Former X Factor star Grace Davies continues to impress with what she has dubbed as her ‘saddest song ever’ i met a boy online. A song touching upon themes of anxiety and self-deprication, it’s all about that worry of not being attractive to someone you’ve been speaking to online, as well as the fear to open up, something I’m sure many of us have felt at some stage. A stripped-back track that builds to incorporate choral elements, it’s quickly become one of my top Grace Davies songs to date!


Cappellino – The Things We Knew Before

I first saw artist Cappellino perform very briefly when working at pub in Watford nearly four years ago. I didn’t get chance to catch much of his set, but I liked his sound, so made a note of him as someone to listen to properly when I got the chance. Well here we are FINALLY, and I have to say I regret leaving it so long. The Things We Knew Before, taken from his album Ghost Town is a perfect slice of alternative and a favourite from this month’s playlist. Cappellino has since moved on to a new project, and is a now a vocalist for up-and-coming indie group Lakes, who I will be sure to check out properly soon… I definitely won’t wait four years this time!


iiola – No Funeral

Independent artist iiola released her latest single at the end of last month, and as always I am loving what she is serving. I may be biased (Not that she’d remember, but I was a small part in a production of Grease she was in back at school) but No Funeral, released on her own new record label, is an ethereal, waltzy, incredibly catchy tune about letting the ‘old you’ go and finding a new lease for life, with no regrets. An exciting and polished up-and-coming artist, be sure to keep an eye out on what comes next for iiola.


Larkins – Flood

I first discovered Manchester group Larkins back in April of last year, and they continue to impress and push further into mainstream with their track Flood. First released in 2019, the group feel very current and at home in the indie scene, but still manage to add their own twist to differentiate themselves from the rest. They recently released a demo for a new track on their Soundcloud which also sounds great, so let’s hope we get some brand spanking new music from them available soon!


LANY – i still talk to jesus

Up there in the rather large aether of ‘my favourite bands’ is American indie pop group LANY, who I have followed since their kinda EP back in 2016. Last year they released their third studio album mama’s boy, featuring the track i still talk to jesus. The song discusses faith in a frank and honest way, and is about still holding onto that faith even if you may do things that aren’t… ‘morally good’. With gospel elements incorporated as the song builds, the track is vulnerable, truthful, and clever, something you can always guarantee when you listen to LANY.


*Special Mention – Liar Liar *

I first featured indie pop four-piece Liar Liar in my first Stereo Spotlight article last month, shining a light on new artists and groups that deserve more recognition. Since then, they have been working hard in the studio and dropped their new single Pretending, a cool, summery, synthpop BOP which I have been enjoying greatly in March. If you’re a fan of groups such as Fickle Friends and PVRIS, you should most definitely have a listen to what I’m being bold enough to call Liar Liar’s best song yet!


Be sure to check back for new articles next month! Don't forget to follow Steve's Stereo on Spotify!

bottom of page