top of page
  • Steve Croydon

September 2020 - A reminder that I could be free


In a year when so far most of life has been put on pause, ‘a reminder that I could be free’ is what I, and I’m sure so many of us, have to keep checking ourselves with: that this won’t last forever, and that we’ll all be able to go back to our normal lives soon. The line comes from American singer VINCINT, with Be Me. The track was used in Season Five of Queer Eye, and is a song all about self-assurance and self-acceptance – being yourself is always enough. VINCINT also posted a gorgeous acoustic version online too, which is well worth checking out.


Keep scrolling for more tunes I’ve been loving in September!


London Grammar – Baby It’s You

I first discovered London Grammar when they came onto the scene at drama school and they became our ‘stretch music’. I also saw them on tour in Manchester after the release of their second album in 2017, so I’m thrilled they’re finally returning with new music. Baby It’s You is the first tease of the new album, currently scheduled for release early next year. The track is a perfect lead single for their third LP, as it stays true to the quintessential London Grammar vibe, while at the same time evolving and inviting in new elements, making it less melancholic and giving it more of trance-dance feel.


Troye Sivan – STUD

Up next is Australian artist Troye Sivan with a track from his new EP In A Dream. Sivan has described this EP as an exploration and experimentation, a selection of songs he wrote in a short space of time, giving the record as a whole a varied feel in terms of style. STUD is a prime example of this, as this ballad morphs into a rather dirty house beat, giving it a dark and sexy feel. It feels like the kind of song you’d lose your inhibitions and get sweaty to – if we could still dance next to each other, of course.


Novo Amor – If We’re Being Honest

Taking us down a much more reflective avenue, is Welsh artist Novo Amor (meaning ‘New Love’ in Portuguese). I’ve been a huge fan ever since I heard his Guns ‘N’ Roses cover of Welcome To The Jungle, and he’s back now teasing his third studio album. Never before have I heard an artist who can really capture hindsight and a reflection of the past quite as much of Novo Amor; each song seems to be recalling a moment, or a place, or a person, and If We’re Being Honest is no exception. His voice is dream-like and ethereal in quality, and the song crescendos to make this surely a staple track from the new album coming very soon.


THE ANXIETY – Meet Me At Our Spot

Potentially my top song of the month is none other than Willow Smith and producer/potential boyfriend Tyler Cole. After producing her 2019 album WILLOW, the two collaborated on a record as THE ANXIETY, which dropped in March of this year. And let me tell you, Willow has matured a lot since Whip My Hair, which I struggle to even believe is the same voice. Meet Me At Our Spot is a dreamy duet, a song about escaping with someone in a moment and allowing that connection to outweigh the problems we may have in life. I’m yet to properly explore the rest of the album but it’s definitely top of my list!


iiola – Sensual

Shining some light on some up and coming talent in the form of English singer-songwriter iiola. Now she won’t remember me by any means, but I actually went to school with this artist (she played Sandy in a production of Grease that I was also in), and have been following her music journey since. Here she is with her new track Sensual, a song which is just that, a lovely blend between a dreamy alternative pop sound, and sexy suggestive lyrics. iiola has also teamed up with partner Wilkinson on a host of tracks too, if you’re in a turn-the-music-up-and-dance mood.


*Special Mention – Paloma Faith*

This month I’m shining a light on the return of Paloma Faith, who this month released the first single from her upcoming fifth studio album. The song, Better Than This, is about struggling in love, but still persevering, and taking the very good with the very bad. It’s a great comeback song for Paloma; the tone to her voice still evokes emotion and pain much like the preceding albums and is so distinguishable you’d always know it’s her. The album Infinite Things is due for a November release so not long to wait if you’re a fan of the Faith!


Don't forget to follow me and my playlists on Spotify! See you next month!

bottom of page