top of page
  • Steve Croydon

August 2020 - I step on broken glass, and dream of soft clouds


I have always been mesmerised by the sheer presence and creativity of Norwegian singer-songwriter AURORA. I was first captured by a live performance of her singing David Bowie’s Life On Mars? in which she seems to connect with the story and lyrics of the song in such a unique and captivating way, and since then I’ve always been sure to check what else she’s doing. This month’s lyric comes from Daydreamer, a track from her 2019 album A Different Kind of Human – Step 2, and you’ll find it’s as ethereal as ever. She’s also teased new music so expect more from her soon.


What else have I been loving this month, I hear you bellow? Scroll down to check it out.


The Naked And Famous – Everybody Knows

At the end of last month, New Zealand indie pop duo The Naked and Famous dropped their fourth studio album Recover. As a fan of the group for a few years (Higher was one of my top tracks I discovered in 2019), I was very excited to hear this latest effort, and I have been adoring the ANTHEMIC Everybody Knows this month. The song is a simple and honest account of a relationship which, while it won’t be perfect all the time, it’s taking the good AND the bad that makes it work. To quote the infectious hook, ‘everybody knows you’re my sickness and the cure’.


Bastille ft. Graham Coxon – WHAT YOU GONNA DO???

A certain nostalgia rises as I begin writing about the new Bastille track, as my first album review I wrote for the school newsletter when I was seventeen was a very in-depth analysis of their debut album Bad Blood. Seven years and three albums later and they’re still one of my faves, all thanks to lead vocalist Dan Smith’s silky tones and their continual apocalyptic analogies. After all, has any year felt more apocalyptic than 2020?! But now Bastille are back going down a slightly different direction, teaming up with Blur member Graham Coxon on WHAT YOU GONNA DO??? The band have said a new album is coming, but for now they’re just releasing tracks as they go, hailing this a new chapter for them. I for one am excited to see what’s next.


James Bay – Chew On My Heart

It’s a great month for artists I already love to be dropping new music! Also back in my playlist this month is brand new from James Bay, with Chew On My Heart, a song about needing someone desperately, and unapologetically confessing this. His last studio album was back in 2018, but hopefully the release of this new banger will mean we have even more coming soon from this Grammy-nominated artist.


Dermot Kennedy – Giants

Next is the wonderful Dermot Kennedy with his latest release Giants. When concerts were allowed (remember those?) I was lucky enough to see him on tour in London last year and he truly is an artist I can see exploding into superstardom very soon. He’s distinctive, he’s honest, he’s talented, and his lyrics feel like poetry, which is always a big plus for me. Giants is all this personified, and if you haven’t listened to his album Without Fear yet, do it now.


Modernlove. – Liquorice.

More Irish pride here, with new-ish indie group Modernlove. with the SWEET (get it?) Liquorice. The four-piece got my attention with their aptly titled Bop. last year and they’ve been gradually sprinkling releases out for the fans since then. Liquorice. is currently their most streamed song online, which is no surprise, as it offers a cool synth-pop vibe that oozes freshness and clarity. Another group to remember the name of, period.


*Special Mention – Cover of the Month*

Introducing a *NEW FEATURE*?? in the form of ‘Cover of the Month’, where I shine a spotlight on the best reimagining of a classic that I’ve been enjoying over the last few weeks. This month it has to be American singer and YouTuber Savannah Outen, with her acoustic version of Sweater Weather by The Neighbourhood. Admittedly this cover dropped back in 2013, but who cares?! Outen’s vocals sound raw and powerful as she adds a whole new flair to this indie classic from the Neighbourhood. If you’re a fan of this, there are oodles and oodles of other covers from Outen to explore (seven whole albums, no less).


Don't forget to click the playlist at the top of the page to listen in full, see all my past playlists, and follow me on Spotify! Thanks for all your support!

bottom of page